The Carleton Place Canadians defeated the Pembroke Lumber Kings 8-3 on Sunday afternoon, winning the CCHL Finals series 4-1 and claiming their 2nd straight Bogart Cup Title.  With the victory, the Canadians have booked their ticket to the 2015 Fred Page Cup hosted in Cornwall, Ontario which goes from April 29 – May 3.

It was a scoring-by-committee kind of day as seven different players potted goals for Carleton Place.  Craig Pefley got things started just 3 minutes into the game to put the Canadians up and they would never look back.  They would however allow the Lumber Kings to tie things up before the 1st period came to an end on a Hudson Michaelis tally.

The 2nd period would have a much different story than the 1st as Andrew Dodson, Tyson Stewart, Stephen Baylis, Andy Sturtz, and Jordan Larson would all score for Carleton Place while Pembroke would get a single from Ryan Casselman.

In the 3rd and final period, Vinny Post would score while Stewart got his 2nd of the game before Colton Keuhl would reply for Pembroke late.   Guillaume Therien would finish with 22 saves in the Carleton Place net as he picked up his 11th postseason victory while Jordan Piccolino made 29 saves for Pembroke as his junior career came to an end.  Also graduating for the Lumber Kings are Brett du Puy, Dylan Chase, Mitchell Mueller, Felix Chamberland, Anthony Nellis, Alexandre Boivin, and Stephan Beauvais.

Andy Sturtz would be named Playoff MVP after posting 9 goals and 22 points in just 12 games to tie for the team scoring lead with Captain Stephen Baylis.

Carleton Place will get a little rest before they head off to the Fred Page Cup in Cornwall at the end of the month.  Joining them will be the host Cornwall Colts whom they defeated in the CCHL Semi Finals, as well as the Dieppe Commandos of the Maritime Hockey League (MHL), and the winner of the “Ligue de Hockey Junior du Quebec” Finals between the Longueuil College and the Sherbrooke Panthers.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *