For the second time in as many years the Carleton Place Canadians were crowned Fred Page Cup champions and are heading to the RBC Cup to play for the National Championship.

Fred Page Cup Champs

The Canadians defeated the Martime Hockey League champion Dieppe Commandos 3-2 Sunday afternoon in Cornwall, Ontario to punch their ticket to Portage la Prarie, Manitoba.  They are the first club to win back-to-back Eastern Canadian titles since the tournament was established in 1995.

Stephen Baylis, Bryce Van Horn, and Willie Brooks scored the Carleton Place goals, Craig Pefley chipped in with 3 assists while goaltender Guillaume Therien finished with 30 saves in the victory.  Baylis, who finished the tournament with 4 goals and 5 points in 3 games was named MVP.  Robbie Graham and Ryan Langan replied for Dieppe while Marc Terriault made 28 saves in the losing effort.

RBC Cup Bound

The Canadians will now head off to Portage la Prarie, Manitoba where they will look to get redemption on last years late game collapse in the National Championship game in Vernon, British Columbia.  Carleton Place led the SJHL’s Yorkton Terriers 3-1 with under three minutes to play before giving up two goals in 8 seconds before falling 4-3 in overtime.

They are the only club from last years tournament to return and are joined by the Soo Thunderbirds of the NOJHL, Melfort Mustangs of the SJHL, Penticton Vees of the BCHL, and the host Portage Terriers of the MJHL.  The 5-team tournament gets underway this coming Saturday May 9th at 3pm.  The Canadians first game is later that evening as they will square off against the Soo Thunderbirds at 8pm.  More details to follow.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *